Project 2 – Skull Pencil Holder

A Useful Way to Express the Halloween Spirit

The idea that I had behind this project was to have something that was small and able to be put on a desk space. Whether it be a lamp, a figurine, or something useful and organizational. I first started at taking a stab at creating a lamp/lampshade of airplanes and spacecrafts for a desk but figuring out the orientation of the airplanes and spacecrafts and my connections lacked. That is when I cleared the drawing board and thought of something Halloween themed but still keeping the constraint of staying on the desk. That’s when I thought of a skull pencil holder. I recreated a design and put together the skull. I used cardboard to keep the project the least costly while still keeping the wood color. It’s useful for cheap and easy on time. Keeps my pens, pencils, markers, and highlighters organized at my desk space. Have the Halloween Spirit at your desk whether it be at home or at work.

I first started with this design by tracing it out in Illustrator to get the basic curves down. From there I moved the file over into Rhino and made two sets of all the cut outs. I prepped one for the laser cutter with the lines being changed to pure red and a hairline width so the laser will cut through it all the way. The other set was used to be made into a 3D model. I extruded the curves, put planar surfaces on the extrusions, and joined them to create the skull just as I would with the physical object. The rendering in Rhino made the design look clean and presentable. When it was time to laser cut, the process was quick and I cut two versions of the cardboard cutouts. First one was to put together and test the object out and the next one was more a final product. The cardboard fit together well and all of the joints worked out well. The slits used as joints worked out well because there were enough connection on each piece that the whole object stood together with no adhesive.

Here are some pictures of the process:

Leave a comment